Whatever is pure, whatever is lovely

Book Review Friday: Genesis 45-50

Posted on: September 5, 2007

Hello! I started a blog so that I could participate in Book Review Friday. I do not have nearly as much to say as the other people who are doing this, but I hope that practice will help.

First of all, I was struck as usual by the contrast between the generosity of this Pharaoh and the fear that filled the next one. The current Pharaoh doesn’t seem at all concerned that the Israelites are going to cause any problems, and he gives Joseph and his family much more than one could hope to expect from a ruler. The next Pharaoh is greedy, in that he refuses to pay the Israelites for their labor, but that seems to be overshadowed by his fear of them.

I have two questions from this week’s reading:

  1. In 46:4, God says to Jacob, “Joseph will put his hand on your eyes.” What does that mean? Jacob was old; was he blind? Was Joseph going to heal him?
  2. Why were shepherds an abomination to the Egyptians?

I intend to do some research, and if I find any answers, I will post them.

My favorite part of this passage is Joseph’s perspective on what his brothers did to him. In chapter 45 he says, “It was not you who sent me here, but God.” And in chapter 50 he says, “You meant evil against me, but God meant it for good.” God is sovereign, and He knows what He’s doing, even when it doesn’t look like it. These are two of my favorite verses, because they do me so much good.

2 Responses to "Book Review Friday: Genesis 45-50"

Hi! Glad you joined! I haven’t posted a review in a long while but I read with the rest of the “silent” group 🙂

I’m glad to have read your review and look forward to the next one! Hopefully I’ll get myself back into the review writing soon because it totally helps me understand what I’ve read…or at least process it.

Hey Heidi. We both had the same favourite passage. 🙂 It was a great few chapters, and it’s so good to see another review!
As for your questions, I’m not really sure. I think the shepherds were looked down on because they were considered dirty and only the lowest of the lowest classes were made to do it. I’m sure someone else would have a much better answer. Please post any answers you find. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Delicious bookmarks

Unfinished projects

Pansy Mosaic tablecloth and placemats headbands for Cinderella key rack beaded Christmas ornament embroidery lighthouse fix this widget

Blog Stats

  • 2,339 hits
