Whatever is pure, whatever is lovely

A Wrinkle in Time

Posted on: October 11, 2007

I’m reading it for my book club, and it’s bringing back my childhood so strongly that it’s almost overwhelming. As a teenager it may well have been favorite book, for many reasons: the imagination and magic in it, for the metaphors it has (more about that later), but mostly because I identified so much with Meg, and there was hope for her, so maybe there was hope for me. I never fit in very well anywhere, and I could never figure out if I was special or just odd. I had enough in common with Meg that I could hope I was special like she was.

Even as an adult, I still wonder if I am as different from average as I feel like I am. Maybe everyone feels this way, since we are all unique, after all. Certain parts of our society (think high school) value conformity so much that they remind me of the the town on Camazotz, where entire categories of people do exactly the same thing at precisely the same time, acting like they’re robots even though they’re not. Many people, even outside of high school, conform to what they perceive as the norm, and so our society is less varied than it might be if everyone were to just be themselves.

2 Responses to "A Wrinkle in Time"

Thanks! I don’t know how I am still answering questions at the end of the day…God’s grace, I guess! I actually counted this morning, and Dale asked about 15 questions in 10 minutes time, so you did pretty good yourself to last 20 minutes! 😉
I wanted to respond to this post… I haven’t read A Wrinkle in Time, but what you say about it makes me want to read it. I think I will add it to my list. (http://ourdevinefamily.blogspot.com/2007/10/fall-into-reading-challenge.html)
I wonder all the time if I must just be weird. I too have never seemed to fit completely in anywhere (especially in high school). I think blogging and reading blogs has been great for me, because I have seen that there are people out there that I am more similar to than I might have thought. So anyway, thanks for sharing about this book!

Amy, I think you won’t regret making time for A Wrinkle in Time. It has two sequels as well. I looked at your reading list – that’s a lot of books to read in three months! Are you planning to report on what you thought about them?

I’m glad you’re finding common ground with people online. It really helps to just meet more and more people. Another thing that has been wonderful for me is that our church is the most intellectual one I’ve ever been involved in. We have lots of very smart people, and no one’s afraid to analyze what they believe, so I’m not the only one asking questions like I was when I was a teenager.

Leave a Reply

Delicious bookmarks

Unfinished projects

Pansy Mosaic tablecloth and placemats headbands for Cinderella key rack beaded Christmas ornament embroidery lighthouse fix this widget

Blog Stats

  • 2,318 hits
