Whatever is pure, whatever is lovely

BRF: First Peter

Posted on: October 12, 2007

I didn’t have time to read 1 Peter as many times as I was supposed to, but here’s some of what I think about it.  First of all, Nero was Emperor until 68 A.D., and 1 Peter was written in 65 A.D. according to the notes in my Bible. So the suffering Peter was talking about was probably pretty severe.

Secondly, one of my favorite verses in the whole Bible is 1 Peter 3:4: …rather let [your adornment] be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God. I should give a bit of background to explain why I love this verse so much. I used to think that God didn’t especially care for women and girls, since we aren’t given positions of leadership, and we’re supposed to submit to our husbands, etc. One of the things that cured me of this thinking was observing the way Jesus treats women in the gospels, and the other thing was this verse. You see, the Greek word that means precious is the same word that is used in chapter 1 to refer to the blood of Jesus. Just think, something that has only to do with women, not with men, deserves that same word. Ponder that next time you think God doesn’t value you because you’re female.

3 Responses to "BRF: First Peter"

Good to see your review Heidi. God is so good! He has a perfect purpose for the different roles of men and women; He makes no mistakes. I really enjoyed reading I Peter and I am looking forward to II Peter.

Hey Heidi, great thoughts on first peter! I didn’t know that about the word “precious” in 3:4 being used in that way to talk about the blood of Jesus as well. Wow, that’s pretty special 🙂

I was glad to see more reviews than my own when I got up this morning!!

I had no idea about the meaning of that word! Very cool. So glad to see your review!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Delicious bookmarks

Unfinished projects

Pansy Mosaic tablecloth and placemats headbands for Cinderella key rack beaded Christmas ornament embroidery lighthouse fix this widget

Blog Stats

  • 2,339 hits
