Whatever is pure, whatever is lovely

WFMW: Cures for tummy troubles

Posted on: October 24, 2007

Yesterday I caught the stomach bug that’s been going around, and I’ve been living on ginger ale and crackers ever since, with a little jello for variety. So I thought I’d share all my tricks for making nausea and diarrhea go away.

First, for settling things down, whether it’s nausea or cramping further down, your best friends are chamomile tea and ginger ale, preferably Vernor’s if you can get it, because it has more ginger than the other kinds of ginger ale. Ginger tea would probably work well too.

Once you’re ready for solid food again, start with bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast (this is the BRAT diet, and they are all constipating foods). Common sense tells me that the toast has to be made from white bread, since all the fiber in whole wheat bread is not helpful right now. I can put butter on the toast and rice and not have problems, but other people need to skip the butter. Crackers and pasta also work well for me, but nothing whole grain. Fiber is not my friend right now!

Above all, avoid all dairy products until you’re completely over it, and I always give it a couple more days for good measure (except for the butter – I don’t know why I can get away with that). Most people are rendered lactose-intolerant by food poisoning and stomach viruses. When you’re ready to start with dairy again, start with yogurt that has active cultures. This will replenish your system with all the good-for-you bacteria that help you digest things. I have read that eating yogurt will actually shorten the duration of a bout of diarrhea, but I can’t tolerate it myself until I’m over it.

The next thing I’m going to try is peppermint tea, because I’ve read that it helps with nausea, but I can’t vouch for it personally yet.

For a whole mess of other great ideas, check out Works For Me Wednesday at Rocks in My Dryer.

4 Responses to "WFMW: Cures for tummy troubles"

Ginger tea is my favorite. I use Lipton’s version of it. I think it’s called Ginger Twist. Most gingerale these days really doesn’t have ginger in it. I’ll have to see if I can find that Vernor’s brand to keep on hand. I have an ulcer and a hiatal hernia, so I don’t need any other stomach troubles on top of them.
Did you know that real licorice helps settle your stomach, too? It has to be the real kind…look in the health food section of the grocery. Good N Plenty doesn’t cut it, LOL! (The kind I buy has a panda bear on the box.)

Let’s just hope we all stay healthy this fall!

Herbs for Kids has something called Minty Ginger that has worked really well for our family!!! I found it at my local health food store in the kids’ section. This mess went through our family about a week or so ago, but it lasted less than a day. Thanks for the tip!!!

If you don’t like yogurt (I don’t), you can also buy acidophilus capsules. They make acidphilus tablets for kids too, I’ve been giving them to my son as he’s been recovering from the flu.

I did know that about licorice, but unfortunately I can’t stand the stuff. My MIL says it really helped with morning sickness for her. But I think I will try Lipton’s ginger tea, and Minty Ginger!

I do happen to like yogurt, but it never occurred to me before that I could start taking the acidophilus tablets as soon as I get sick, whereas I can’t have yogurt until I’m completely better, because I can’t handle the lactose. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

Delicious bookmarks

Unfinished projects

Pansy Mosaic tablecloth and placemats headbands for Cinderella key rack beaded Christmas ornament embroidery lighthouse fix this widget

Blog Stats

  • 2,318 hits
