Whatever is pure, whatever is lovely

Works for Me Wednesday – Popovers!

Posted on: July 9, 2008

I was going to post this last week for the 5-ingredients version of WFMW, but since that was 2 days before my daughter’s birthday, it just didn’t happen. Now that I have recovered, I am sharing with you the easiest recipe that ever tasted good, as far as I’m concerned. (We’ll see what I think after I check out all of last week’s WFMW links.)

Popovers: (makes 16-18, depending on how full you fill the muffin cups)

Preheat the oven to 425 F.

2 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

6 eggs (no need to beat them first)

2 cups milk

2 Tbsp. oil

Start with the flour and salt, so you can get them well mixed first. Then add everything else, and mix it with an electric mixer/beater. DO NOT use a fork! I tried it once and got very lumpy batter. Beat it until the flour is combined. It should be the consistency of thick cream.

Spray 18 standard-size muffin cups with cooking spray *with flour* (it sticks without the flour). Fill the muffin cups about 3/4 full of the batter. Bake for 30-35 minutes. Don’t open the oven during baking; that can make them collapse. When they’re done, they’ll be nicely brown on the top with a hollow space in the middle of each one.

I like to eat them plain with lots of butter, and with 6 eggs in the recipe, they have a fair bit of protein. But you can add more by stuffing them with cheese, tuna salad, chicken salad, egg salad, or my favorite stuffing: deli turkey and avocado slices.

Notes:

The original recipe only called for 4 eggs, but I sneak protein into my kids any way I can, and we think they’re even better with 6 eggs anyway.

They make popover pans for this purpose. I don’t room in my kitchen for single-purpose implements, and muffin tins work just fine.

I tried it once with soy milk (temporary lactose intolerance) and they didn’t rise properly. I have no idea why, but they turned out to be really eggy muffins. Good, but not the same as proper popovers.

It’s funny – this is a lot of words for an “easy” recipe, but it really is easy. I have the whole thing in my head, and I can do it all in the 6 minutes it takes my oven to preheat.

Check out what works for other people at Rocks in My Dryer!

2 Responses to "Works for Me Wednesday – Popovers!"

These sound good. I think they would taste great for breakfast too!
Toni

I toast the leftover ones in the toaster oven for a midnight snack. We never have any left by morning, but breakfast is a great idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Delicious bookmarks

Unfinished projects

Pansy Mosaic tablecloth and placemats headbands for Cinderella key rack beaded Christmas ornament embroidery lighthouse fix this widget

Blog Stats

  • 2,293 hits
