Whatever is pure, whatever is lovely

Works for Me Wednesday – Starfall

Posted on: September 10, 2008

It’s Works for Me Wednesday over at Rocks in My Dryer, and here’s what works for me – having my kids entertain themselves online by learning to read. Starfall is a free website that starts with letters and the sounds they make, and moves up to words, then complete stories for kids (There’s even one about the Trojan horse!). My children (ages 5 and 3) love it. I won’t tell you the computer taught them to read, because I’ve done a fair bit about it myself, along with my husband and our parents. But the kids love it, and it’s phonics, so it’s more profitable than some of the other choices.

If  you’d like more great ideas than you can shake a stick at, go see Rocks in My Dryer.

2 Responses to "Works for Me Wednesday – Starfall"

Cute site – thanks for sharing!

We love starfall at our house. I definitely think it is an invaluable addition to learning to read. I believe the more ways we present reading the more they will pick up. Good post!

Leave a Reply

Delicious bookmarks

Unfinished projects

Pansy Mosaic tablecloth and placemats headbands for Cinderella key rack beaded Christmas ornament embroidery lighthouse fix this widget

Blog Stats

  • 2,308 hits
